Classical modern: Saudade No 3

I’m surprised how many people think that the classical guitar rep consists only of romantic Spanish or 18th century Western European (Bach, Mozart) transcriptions, or that it that the apex of its modern compositions stopped with H. Villa-Lobos; here’s an example of the wide selection offered by composers of today. For example, this is Saudade #3 by the French composer-guitarist Roland Dyens. It is played here by the great Japanese guitarist Kaori Muraji.

Below is another Dyens piece, played by Meng Su, Yameng Wang, Chen Shanshan ,Li Jie

I think two members of this quartet, Meng Su and Yameng Wang,  are also known as the Beijing Guitar Duo (website)


Leave a comment

Filed under Classical Guitar, Guitar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s